Search
  • ngsitedesign

ALERT! Which Way for the Council on the Comp Plan?

FAIRNESS AND RESIDENTS VERSUS

THE COMP PLAN'S RISING RENTS, RACISM,

SPECIAL INTERESTS AND DISPLACEMENT

WHICH SIDE WILL THE COUNCIL TAKE?

A Vote is Fast Approaching on the Plan to Comprehensively Govern the Future of Housing in DC, (The "Comp Plan")

The Real Question Is, Will the Council Hand Over the City So Comprehensively and Completely to Developers?

Despite All Claims to the Contrary (Based on Legal Mumbo Jumbo Crafted by Clever Lawyers), The Plan Would Eliminate Community Say in Developing Your Neighborhood!

Any Claims to the Contrary by Anyone - Councilmembers, Smart Growth Orgs, Agencies - Are At the Very Least Uninformed.

WE SAY TIME TO TABLE IT, TO REVISE & AMEND THE PLAN INSTEAD OF "JUST PASS IT NOW, WE'LL FIX IT LATER"

WE URGE, CONTACT THE COUNCIL (CONTACT INFO BELOW)

Dear Tenants and Friends,

The developer/real estate lobby has crafted a law to ensure the onslaught of streamroller development, by clever language in the proposed Comp Plan to give it the appearance that communities will have input in development. But in reality, it would force appeals and government agencies to adhere to developer plans if developer plans are ever challenged. Now that activists and other concerned citizens have spotted this clever loophole, developers want to rush the bill through, promising "we'll fix it later." This promise ranks with Trump's "you'll have great health care you wouldn't believe" and Bush the younger and Colin Powell's claims of WMDs. Never have developers kept their promise, for example, to revisit the 2 percent add-on to rent increases.

Now is the time instead to table the proposed draft of The Plan and revise it to take into account the needs of residents for affordable housing, concerns for displacement, and to stop the racist effects of the plan. The Plan contains only fake affordable housing promises and would displace anyone in its way. It would continue the racism cited long ago as "The Plan" that black activists long warned about, to empty the city of black residents and fill it with wealthy white ones. Even the DC Council's own Office of Racial Equity said this Comp Plan proposal will worsen racial inequity. What more do we need to take a breather and revise it? Besides its eliminating community input too?

Some observers say the Council is in over its head trying to understand the Plan's real impact. Others say that they do understand the real world impact, and will willingly vote for a law that disregards the well-being, rights, and wishes of its residents, in favor of developers and special interests. Let us see how they vote and lets hear their reasons in support or to table and revise. The amendments of the Grassroots Planning organization, and advice of the Committee of 100, plus the wishes of many community organizations, is a good place to begin with needed changes.

For all these reasons, TENAC urges the council to table and/or amend the current proposed Comp Plan to consider residents' real concerns. We also urge and plead that concerned citizens call councilmembers and make their voice heard, to stop this steamroller. Time is of the essence. The first vote is tomorrow, May 4th with a second vote scheduled for two weeks later. Key Council contact info:

JOIN US IN TAKING ACTION THIS WEEK - Tell the DC Council to Act Now to amend the Comp Plan before passage. First vote is scheduled for May 4th.

CALL/EMAIL THE COUNCIL - YOU CAN PHONE AND LEAVE A MESSAGE, EVEN AFTER HOURS - THE CALLS WILL BE TALLIED AND CONSIDERED. Please Call by the A.M. of May 4th – call 6 of the DC Council offices listed below: the 4 At-Large members (Silverman, Henderson, R White and Bonds), Chairman Phil Mendelson, and your Ward level Councilperson.

Sample message:

“I am deeply concerned about the continued displacement of Black and brown residents from the city, and it is clear that the Comprehensive Plan does not go far enough to address racial equity. Please support the recommendations of the DC Grassroots Planning Coalition to strengthen the Comp Plan before final passage – particularly: prioritize the development of housing affordable to low income people, mandate the prevention of displacement, and create new opportunities for resident led equitable development, including in public housing. I urge you to introduce new amendments on May 4th to support these goals.”

Phil Mendelson, Council Chair - (202) 724-8032 pmendelson@dccouncil.us

Anita Bonds, At Large - (202) 724-8064 abonds@dccouncil.us

Elissa Silverman, At Large - (202)-724-7772 esilverman@dccouncil.us

Robert White, At Large - (202)-724-8174 rwhite@dccouncil.us

Christina Henderson, At Large - (202) 724-8105 chenderson@dcouncil.us

Brianne Nadeau, Ward 1 - (202) 724-8181 bnadeau@dccouncil.us

Brooke Pinto, Ward 2 - (202) 724-8058 bpinto@dccouncil.us

Mary Cheh, Ward 3 - (202)-724-8062 mcheh@dcouncil.us

Janeese Lewis George, Ward 4 - (202) 724-8052 jlewisgeorge@dccouncil.us

Kenyan McDuffie, Ward 5 - (202) 724-8028 kmcduffie@dcouncil.us

Charles Allen, Ward 6 - (202)724-8072 callen@dccouncil.us

Vincent Gray, Ward 7 - (202) 724-8068 vgray@dccouncil.us

Trayon White, Ward 8- (202)724-8045 twhite@dccouncil.us

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MORE on Tenant Rent Assistance! Please Forward

Please Forward! This email is just in from the Office of Tenant Advocate (OTA). There are still funds left in the TBRA (Tenant Based Rental Assistance) program for tenants impacted by the pandemic. Ad